Apps that work on iOS, Mac and windows 10

Hi everyone.

A while ago I decided to switch away from Mac towards Windows 10 laptops. There were a few reasons: I despise the MacBook keyboard and I find myself avoiding typing rather than using it; I want to do more dictation and it’s far easier on windows (I have been using dragon naturally speaking on win 10 running on parallels); I’ve been using an ergonomic keyboard on my desktop Mac and I love it, but I’ve not found a good ergonomic keyboard that works on Mac and IPad.

If dictation and ergonomic keyboards worked well on iPad then I would have been happy to stick with my iPad Pro. I’m an author so these things are important to me!

Last week I bought a ms surface go. It’s the iPad-mini equivalent of a surface pro. It’s slow but it does dictation well and it works very nicely with an ergonomic keyboard. And it has a mouse! As well as a pen.

I like it, but it’s small and slow, so I suspect I’ll get a full spec surface pro over time.

But … I’m not abandoning Mac and iOS.

So, I’m interested to find apps that work well across win 10, iOS, and Mac.

(I’ve got scrivener, ms office, drop box and one drive. I haven’t found a good drawing package. I’m not sure what email client to use - but since I work with all gmail accounts I can stick with chrome and gmail. I like the convenience of iCloud photos but it’s not so good for windows!)

Anyone else living this multi-platform life?

For drawing, I would look at the Affinity apps, Inkscape (open source) and the Adobe apps if you have the budget (or an available discount.)

I live the multi-platform life but kind of in the opposite direction. I started on PC running DOS 3.3 before there was a Windows. I bought my first MacBook Pro in 2011. I currently work on Windows all day at work as a developer and have a 2014 MacBook Pro for portability and a 2017 5K iMac at home.