Are You a Free Agent?

• I’m a Free Agent
  • I’d like to be a Free Agent
  • I’m actually happy working for the man

0 voters

I’m curious, how many folks listening to Free Agents are actually working for themselves? How many are aspiring free agents? How many aren’t either of these, but still find the podcast useful/enjoyable?

I ask in part because I’m actually in the third category. I have a jobby job that I like and I’m not looking to make a change in the immediate future. Being a free agent is more of a “someday/maybe” thing for me (perhaps in association with early retirement). I listen to free agents because it’s interesting and I get a lot of stuff out of it that I can apply to my job and life in general (eating the frog, for instance).

I’m in the middle of “working for the man” and “I’d like to be a free agent”, I was a free agent for many years, and loved it - but I love my job now too. So to keep myself happy I’m doing some side things, but still enjoying myself :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Great distinction! You can be completely happy “working for the man” and still apply of the stuff we talk about on Free Agents. IMHO, Free Agency is about control - I want to have control over how I go about my day, and I want to be able to say “no, that’s not in alignment for me anymore.” You don’t have to be an independent freelancer to start thinking that way about your life holistically though. You can start saying “no” to the status quo while designing the life you want regardless of your working situation.

4 Likes

I agree with mike, for me the difference between a free agent and not, is the realisation of control. The defining line is not actually working for yourself or even having a side hustle, these just tend to be things that free agents collect.