Arm what will it mean for the mac

As a developer I seen a lot of misconceptions as to what the more to Arm64 cpus will mean for the mac. So if eel maybe I should share some of my views/expectations of this before we come to WWDC this year (and maybe the start of our migration).

So here are a few areas I think need addressing:

Will moving to ARM make it easier for developers to adopt Catalyst

No, Catalyst is completely tangential to the cpu instruction set.

Some people will think if macOS is on ARM that means developers don’t need to port their iOS apps to x86 to use Catalyst. However all iOS/iPadOS apps have been able to run on x86 since before the iPhone shipped, as part of our every day development cycle for iOS/iPadOS apps we build x86 versions that is just how the Xcode simulator works, it is a version of iOS that is built and runs on x86. So moving macs to Arm has not affect whatsoever on the difficulty of shipping an app with Catalyst.

Will it be difficult to port applications from x86-64 to Arm64

In comparison to the PPC translation the move from x86-64 to Arm-64 will be a lot simpler for a few reasons:

1. We all use the same compiler/tooling:

In the PPC days there were many compilers and build chains in use.

When the intel translation happened only some of these were made compatible so many developers needed to switch build-chain. Changing compiler and build-chain can be a complex task that is prone to produce lots of bugs.

However today we all use LLVM, on-top of this we all tend to use a recent version of Xcode. So the efforts to move to the new version of Xcode that will support ARM compilation for macOS will be minimal in comparison.

2. There just are not that many legacy applications for macOS any more.