Audiobook won't be categorised

I have a single audiobook that won’t let itself be categorised as an audiobook. I imported it and it just appears as music, but I can assure that it is an audiobook. Can anyone help me out in categorising it correctly?

What is the file format (eg AAC, AIFF, mp3, WAV) for the file?

The files are MP3

So Audiobook isn’t being made available as a file option in iTunes?

My general advice is: once the MP3 file has been added to iTunes:

• right-click the track in the library,
  • Get Info, and go to the Options tab.
  • Set the Media Kind to Audiobook and
  • check the box for Remember Playback Position.
1 Like

As @bowline outlined this is one option that works really well. Another option I wanted to share is a great tool I have been using for many years now, Audiobook Builder. It allows creating Audiobooks from the differently formatted audio files. It comes with some great features like Audio File Joining, Enhanced Chapter Stops, Adjustable Quality Settings, and integrates with iTunes as well and for $4.95 IMHO I think it’s a steal. I can only highly recommend it if you frequently want to create Audiobooks.

1 Like

FYI I have had and used Audiobook Builder for years and think it’s a great app and have recommended it to others. I use it to take 100+ chapter audiobooks and turn them into a single audiobook file (that’s smaller than the individual ones) that works just as well as a zillion little files, while taking up less space.

BUT… it is a 32-bit app and when I contacted the Splasm developer Allan Woodall this spring about his updating it, he replied,

"We do plan to move Audiobook Builder to 64-bit in version 2.0, but don’t yet have a firm timeline for when that new version will be available. Also, Audiobook Builder 2.0 probably won’t be a free upgrade for our registered users.