Back to basics - Mac backup to Synology NAS

Help me please!!! I’m a MacBook Pro user and I do a large amount of videography for a charity not-for-profit here in Australia. About three weeks ago I purchased a Synology DS1520+ and 2xIronWolf Pro 12TB drives …fabuluous!!! However because of my inexperience in the set-up I’ve got too many issues to list them all here. Is there anybody interested in mentoring me as I really need help. Yes I’ve watched a plethora of youtube videos that I’ve tried to follow. Okay enough of the woe is me …the up side is there are no major issues but rather a multitude of small issues that are consuming my time …day after day. Maybe you also experienced what I’m describing when you purchased your Synology NAS. Yes I’ve called out to Synology for help. They respond within about 12hours but the info they give many times goes over my head eg., “open Synology Drive client” …okay fine but no indication or which device to open the client on, my wife’s PC or my Mac? And no step by sep instructions. Also they say “open Synology Drive” …where? On which device or on my browser? Do you see what I mean? Yes I am desperately in need of help. I’d like to hear your story and ESPECIALLY how you got on top of it. Thanks Garry

since you’re desperate in need of help here is my advice, all care and no responsibility however!

Thats a very nice NAS. I did exactly what you are planning to do about 3 months ago with a 420+. It went extremely well but it is a very manual process compared to, for example, configuring to back up to an apple Time Capsule. Hope you were not looking for that kind of experience!

You need to familiarise yourself with DSM - DiskStation Manager. Its a website that runs in your NAS. Start with this guide.

Once you have done that, you will be able to follow these steps, hopefully to success.