Back To School? Workflow Needed!

Hey Everyone!

I am going back to school and getting a 2nd master’s degree. The last time I was in school was a decade ago (when I finished my first masters)

Over that time period, many changes have obviously occurred in the app world. Suggestions on how to properly use the apps on my iPad Pro? (or if other people have workflows they like)

What I have and use (before being a student again)

• Omnifocus
  • DevonThink Pro
  • GoodNotes
  • Ulysses
  • PDF Expert
  • Drafts
  • Feedly
  • Pocket

My current thought process…(please chime in for efficiency)

1. DTPO is the archive, folder per course contains all files
  2. Omnifocus would have each class as a project with deadline tasks for readings and assignments
  3. Ulysses - do my assignment writing in here, export to DTPO for archive
  4. GoodNotes - taking notes with the pencil
  5. PDF Expert - read course books from, archive to DTPO when done.

Let me know your thoughts if you have a better efficient way or you see a glitch in the system!

I used/use most of these tools in my Masters and PhD studies, except:

• I use Concepts instead of GoodNotes. GoodNotes is probably better for note taking. However I like Concepts’ toolsets and infinite canvas too much to use a different app. (I’m also not much of a note taker…)
  • I’ve switched from Ulysses to iA Writer. The latter is more customizable on iOS and allows me to own my files without need of exporting or fiddling with Ulysses’ text bundles.

You’ll probably want to look into a reference manager to cite and create bibliographies for readings. Zotero used to be my go-to. I’m now experimenting with Bookends. Not sure what either tool offers on iOS, though—I do this on my desktop.

Also, you’ll want a good date tool (i.e., a calendar, but I could see creative use of DEVONthink 3’s metadata or OmniFocus due dates here too) to manage dates and deadlines.