Bear Tagging System?

I’ve been using Bear for close to 9 months now and I love it. But my tags are kind of a mess. When I first imported from Apple Notes, I went through and added a tag based on what general idea it was related to. So, I was wondering what everyone else’s tagging was like.

This feature request post on the Bear subreddit inspired me to maybe try something else out.

Here's a photo of mine!

44%20PM

I did the same thing when I started using Evernote, but since using Bear Notes I try to keep it simple. I found that tags are not used by me much. If I need a certain note I find that I’m often going to search for it instead of trying to figure out which of the many tags it could be in.

Here is the list of my tags in Bear Notes

• Main
  • Archive
  • Business
  • Journals
  • Thoughts
  • Web clippings

And I feel like that is too much. I only create a tag if I honestly need it or there needs to be separation. The main tag is only used for the current journal I’m working on for quick access to it. When its time the journal note gets moved to journals which are organized with more tags under that for the years.

Business is strictly business stuff and thoughts are random thoughts or comments I want to write. Usually, everything that is not a journal or business gets put into the archive tag especially if I don’t know where to put a certain note.

Edit: you shouldn’t use Bear Notes as a way to store passwords, its better to use a password manager instead. I just saw that in your picture.

2 Likes

My only tags so far are Music and Books. I keep recommendations for both in tagged sections of one main note pinned to top of the list. I should make each category one note.

I use Bear to store stuff , but also to remind me of things to do. There is no alarm so I use tags instead.