Being...self employed?

So I am currently losing my job (I’m a lawyer, I haven’t been meeting my billable requirement, I’m not surprised). I told myself I would never want to “hang my own shingle” as a private practitioner, but the more I think about it and the more I’ve worked in small and midsized private firms, I almost feel like I could better serve my clients not being tied down by old processes and decisions made by partners 10 years ago when the world is so different both post-covid and post-smartphone revolution.

I guess my big question for the Focused/former New Agents is am I crazy? What if I fail? Who should I talk to? There’s so much to think about and I’m not sure where to begin.

2 Likes

I don’t have any good advice but, I wish you luck with wherever life takes you next :slight_smile:

I’m not a lawyer, but I’ve been on my own, and it’s at once exhilarating and terrifying. I really enjoyed it, but unless you get some regular gigs, the revenue uncertainty is something you have to get used to / make allowances for / learn to live with.

Advice: figure out who your potential customers are and focus on them first. (For example, I do t know if you can get away with poaching existing clients from your old employer).

Start using simple tools, many of which have free or cheap tiers up to a certain limit of activity. (I’m thinking of billing software and the like.)

Local banks often offer a cheap or feee business checking account, in the hopes of securing local companies.

Keep track of your time – clearly you already do, just count yourself as a client. Time spent improving your website or billing clients is a real cost, something you have to do, and worth keeping track of (and minimizing if you can’t bill anyone for it).

3 Likes