Best newbie language - Python or R

Hey MPU peeps! My girlfriend is trying to dip her toes in the “data analytics” waters, and the languages that keep coming up are Python and R.

I’m a programmer, but I have no experience with either of these two languages. She’s never programmed a computer a day in her life, so she’ll have to learn all the programming concepts from scratch.

If she could invest in learning ONE of these languages, which would y’all suggest - and why? And is there a course that you’d suggest for whatever language you recommend?

And yes, I’m well aware of the reasons for learning multiple languages. We’re aware that both languages are probably Good To Know in the analytics field. We’re just looking for a good “first language” that gets her closer to her goals, and helps her test the waters.

Thoughts?

I would recommend Python. You are more likely to find the kinds of resources you are looking for. R is more of a special purpose language for statistics and data analysis, Python is a general purpose language.

7 Likes

I would suggest starting off with Python. It’s a more general purpose language that can be used for both data analytics as well as data engineering.

3 Likes

Is there a cross-platform IDE for Python that’s decent? She’s on Windows, and honestly I just use BBEdit and run from the command line. But it would be nice if she could just get an IDE with an “output” window or something. :smiley:

(and yes, I know that by asking about languages and IDEs I’m venturing into “religious opinion” territory - but she needs to start somewhere, right? :smiley: )

I would suggest VS Code. Cross platform, good support and lots of videos to get started.

3 Likes

Thirding Python. I’ve made the same question at Automators forum and I hope this post may be helpful for you.

3 Likes

Another vote for python.
There are tons of books, videos, and courses available for anyone from kids on up. She should pick one that appeals to her 1.