Blog Platforms. I know, what is this… 2003?

I want to get some longer form writing out there. Many years ago, I had a Blogger blog, but more recently I’ve shied away from becoming tied up in google.

Medium is an option, but I remember many negative feelings about them also.

So all options are allowed. whether that’s a Squarespace site or another provider I can point at.

Any opinions?

My blogs, https://axle.design and https://fulcra.design are both hosted there.

It is:

• Independent
  • Wonderfully supported
  • Customizable
  • Even more customizable if you know CSS/HTML/JavaScript
  • Lightweight
  • Easy
  • Works with Markdown apps

I’m hoping to see some RSS functionality show up with Obsidian Publish sometime soon, at which point I’ll probably shift to that to take advantage of native Obsidian features.

5 Likes

Thanks Ryan, that looks really interesting and I would retain all of the content.

1 Like

hi @geoffaire , I am a novice when it comes to blogging. However, you may want to refer to this post which has over 70 posts. I learned a lot from the discussion.

For myself, I started from using medium.com, then micro.blog, tried ghost.org and write.as, now using my own domain to host a WordPress site , so far so good I guess (and hope).

As a side issue, I learned about security, like this story from tidbits. Based on advice from the forum, I have installed wordfence plug in. Not sure that is adequate. At least I am not asking for paid contribution on my site

Dealing with a Card Testing Attack