Cal’s Office Setup

Here is my somewhat messy and unkempt office. It’s quite small for the amount of stuff in it. I made the desk from a door and some table legs purchased at Menards. I will likely be getting a new desk soon that is smaller. I am a pastor and one of my church members is making me a cedar desktop from a tree cut down at the church property. Kind of a cool deal. I’ll have to update when I get that figured out. Sometimes it’s hard to be productive in here so I may need to adjust. Happy to have any suggestions. office360photo

3 Likes

I would consider a simplification or minimisation of the stuff, will less stuff on the desk, or one fewer shelf you could consider moving the desk against a wall, ether under the whiteboard or on the wall behind where it is in the top left picture.

This would give you more space to work with in the room, as a paster I assume that you have a lot of people come to visit you in the office. By moving the desk out of the way it makes them feel closer to you and the space more welcoming then, what it is now, which is almost reminiscent of a trip to the principals office.

And it would make collaborative work easier as people would be able to get alongside you to consult rather then leaning over a desk.

2 Likes

Over a long period of struggling, I’ve learned that everything that I can see takes a small amount of my attention. If there is a book where I can see its spine or cover while I’m trying to work, that book will take a bit of my attention.
Even cables distract. I can ruminate on connectors and the benefits of lightning and usb-c cables, and how they can be oriented either way, etc.

I agree with @Ben_Lincoln suggestions on rearranging the furniture.

2 Likes

I did not realize a man of God could be a Red Sox fan. :wink:

My desktop: IMG_0103

3 Likes

Maybe not, but they certainly can be a Red Sox fan!

2 Likes

Oops, I meant RED Sox! Ha!

2 Likes

Principal’s office… gross. Don’t want that. Thanks for the ideas.