Can Keyboard Maestro replace TextExpander if one is Mac only?

Starting a new thread for this as it’s a more specific question.

If one doesn’t care about iOS syncing and the ability to do things on mobile, is there any reason that one would need both Keyboard Maestro and TextExpander?

I’m starting fresh with Mojave, and thinking carefully about apps I’m installing. From what I can tell, Keyboard Maestro does a lot of what TextExpander does - just sometimes not as easily.

I’m a programmer, so I can totally see using KM for a lot of automation work. And the occasional extra difficulty doesn’t really bother me. So if I can do everything I did in TE with KM, that’s a license fee I don’t have to pay, and another piece of software I don’t have to install.

Thoughts?

The answer is maybe. From a technical standpoint you wouldn’t have a problem setting up and creating macros, but as noted by Peter Lewis, developer of Keyboard Maestro:

Source

To summarise: Too many macros in Keyboard Maestro will eventually cause it to slow down.

Dr Drang has an import script which you may want to use if you go this route though.

4 Likes

Yeah, my usage isn’t that heavy - maybe a couple hundred snippets maximum. :slight_smile:

Looks like KM may be the way to fly. Thanks for the info!

Why would they store the macros all in a single file? I could see having it all indexed in a database but sticking everything in one huge file seems like a recipe for problems.

In contrast, Alfred has its snippets (and everything else) in lots of small files, all indexed. This means among other things you can modify Alfred’s data externally while it’s running without any issues - at least I have never experienced any using this import script I wrote.

I think file I/O is fast enough these days that the latter approach would be preferable.

KM should be good enough for it, it’s one of my primary usecases. For anyone with a lot of macros I would recommend getting a midi launchpad.