Choosing Mac Pro replacement for Photography

My 2013 Mac Pro is getting old enough for me to research replacement options. It’s not quite the base model, with a 512 G SSD and 16 GB of RAM. I’m a documentary photographer and It’s been adequate for my needs. When I purchased it in 2014 I also got a NEC 27” Spectraview monitor with the proprietary calibration tools. It too has been adequate. In fact, if nothing breaks, I’ll be OK with my current setup for the foreseeable future. But I’m not an optimist by nature.

I won’t be considering the new Mac Pro—too expensive and way more power than I need. I’ll likely bump the ram on whatever machine I do get to 32 GB. A 512 GB SSD will be adequate for the OS, my few installed programs, and the Lightroom catalog. All my work is kept on external spinning hard drives.

For now, I’ve written off the Mini because of the installed GPU. That would seem to leave an iMac, MacBook Pro + monitor (I don’t need mobility though), or iMac Pro as the only appropriate options for me.

I’ve looked at my own image files on various iMacs in the last few years and always have one major complaint: the black levels in my pictures are “crushed” on the iMac screens. Now, none of these machines have been calibrated. I’m guessing no adjustments have been made, whatsoever. Still, the way the dark areas look gives me pause.

So, my questions:

=> Can you offer suggestions or alternatives to my hardware options from a power/function POV?
=> Are you working on a calibrated iMac screen and if so, how is it for photography?

Thanks!

At home I have something like your system: a 2013 Mac Pro with an NEC 27” Spectraview, which I did calibrate a long time ago, but not recently. Like you, I am thinking about next steps. My set up has an external RAID that hosts all of my images.