Chronosync and Zip Files

I can’t find the answer to this on the Chronosync website so wondered if anyone else knew.

It appears that Chronosync enters ZIP files to sync, as it’s taking forever to do a scan on a filesystem for me - I’d moved all the files in to a ZIP file to start with, as Windows and Linux ran in to issues syncing the large numbers of files stored, until I zipped them.

Any ideas if it would enter these if I made them DMG files? The files don’t change in them, but I want it to just scan the zip file as a whole, not every file inside it which seems to be happening.

Probably best to ask the folks at Chronosync Support… they are usually quick to reply. When you get feedback, please report here as this behaviour does indeed sound odd (to be unzipping to sync) without apparently a setting to instruct Chronosync to do that.

What happens with a password-protected zip?

I’ve been using Chronosync personally and at work for many years and have never had a problem with zip files. I can think of no reason that a copy program would need to open a zip file. I’ve only seen that behavior from anti-virus. My first guess is you may have a conflict with another program that is running on your Mac.

However, some years ago we ran into a performance problem with one of our servers.
Turns out that Windows, Linux, and Mac computers have issues with directories containing many thousands of files. (In our case we had tens of thousands) In order to get the performance we needed we had to move to a database solution.

Knowing Chronosync, which has a dizzying number of options, there may be an option to look inside zip files when comparing them.

1 Like

I had a quick Look and was wondering if it was the package file option.

It’s not undoing the zipped file, but it looks like it’s entering the zip file to check the directory structure of it if that makes sense? When checking the progress, I saw a lot of Linux file paths, and it was going through my Linux backup zip file.