Cloud-based Cold Storage Suggestions

Greetings! I am interested in some cloud-based cold storage suggestions.

I am a graphic designer and university professor. I keep current work projects and currently needed teaching material local on my main iMac.

Archived work and teaching material that I am not presently using are kept on my Drobo 5N that is attached to my eero router.

I back-up my iMac with Time Machine to an external HD. Long-term, “cold storage” is handled on the Drobo which while it has built-in redundancy, I am feeling like I need to consider some off-site, cloud back-ups for my cold storage files.

I do have a 1 TB Dropbox paid account of which I am currently using only about 20%.

If I increase my Dropbox to 2 TB, that should give me plenty of room for all of my off-site cold storage. Then possibly I consider Backblaze or something similar for off-site computer backups.

I want to be sure that my data is safe if all of my equipment gets stolen or my house burns down. My insurance will replace my hardware, but I cannot lose my work!

Ideally, I envision a system where a completed project gets uploaded to the cloud, copied to my cold storage folder on my Drobo and then gets deleted off of my computer. I’d like to eventually script this.

Thoughts and suggestions?

Thanks,
Bill

I would buy a couple of external drives and keep one off site, perhaps at your school. Backup to them using TimeMachine, so that you have an archive that goes back in time. Rotate the drives every so often. (Take your home backup to school, then bring the school backup home, for increased safety.)

I would also add Backblaze to the mix. In the event of a major catastrophe, they can mail you a drive with your files that you can restore from.