Consistency, Beeminder

Love the podcast, it’s great inspiration.

A recommendation both for David and Mike and for fellow listeners:

I’ve never heard you talk about beeminder.com, which has helped me enormously recently as a means of consistently sticking to things you want to do more or less of on a regular basis – I mention this app specifically, because despite there being other superficially similar ones out there, as far as I know it’s currently in a category by itself because of the combined effect of a small set of important ideas behind it.

Caveat: I don’t personally use the app, though I use its principles quite directly every day. If you want to try those ideas, I think you certainly want to use the app – I’m a weird case in not using it (I’m a programmer and hacked up my own version).

Specifically:

Beeminder is like “don’t break the chain” because:

• it turns long-term plans into daily hard-edged goals

but it’s more forgiving and adaptable because:

• cumulative charts mean you don’t have to do it every day or the same amount every day
  • “precommit to recommit” means the default is to forgive yourself your failures
  • the “akrasia horizon” means you can adapt / change your mind, while still “tieing yourself to the mast”

They also have a lot of “auto-data” integrations with various services and devices.