Cookie hacking. Hijacking even w TFA

Suggestions on how to avoid?

The video you posted has suggestions on how to avoid it. But it’s the same as always, don’t open strange files you download from the internet, etc.

1 Like

I’m sorry; I couldn’t resist. :joy:

1 Like

Moral of the story, don’t use Google Chrome and process your email using a mail client.

I always use a mail client, Apple Mail. May I ask why using a mail client adds additional protection against what was described in the video? I’m not an expert in these matters so I’m just looking for a simple summary, if such a thing is possible.:slightly_smiling_face:

Article explaining it:

https://www.androidpolice.com/dangerous-malware-cookies-breaks-google-accounts/#:~:text=To%20protect%20against%20such%20attacks,to%20change%20your%20password%20immediately.

I think MacExpert is overstating it. You can avoid the malware the same way as you avoid most of them. Don’t click links in email, don’t open strange files you get online, etc. All of these are really easy to avoid. If you have the malware on your computer, then you need to worry about checking Gmail through Chrome. At least as I understand it.

I have seen a couple of cases where a technically well versed YouTuber has his channel taken over. One got even taken over twice!

The common denominator was that they all were using Google Chrome and processing their email using Gmail. Yes they should not have opened a file that was disguised as an agreement for promotion of a product on their channel (targeted attack!). But on the other hand that’s how business is done. Surely they could / should have paid closer attention but I can understand how these mistakes are made.

Therefor my blanket advice to all my clients is to use Safari as their predominant web browser and use an email client like the default Apple Mail App to process mail.