Database Software for a Mac?

Here is the situation:

I am looking for a good, but inexpensive database software that could be used as a client management database. The keyword is inexpensive for now. I could go the route of Excel or Google sheets, but this could get pretty clumsy very fast. I have had extensive experience with Microsoft Access. Unfortunately this doesn’t seem to be available in a MacOS environment. And it would be nice to have mobile access as well.

I know a lot of you out there are running your own businesses. What do you recommend for someone just starting out?

1 Like

https://talk.automators.fm/t/automators-24-automating-with-airtable/

8 Likes

I enjoy using Ninox, but I’m using it for organizing personal stuff rather than managing a business. There are templates for client management. Ninox supports relations among tables. Ninox is quite scriptable via a built-in scripting language. The cloud version supports a REST API and Zapier, but I have not used those.

2 Likes

I use Tap Forms for my occasional database needs (for personal use, mind you). It has Mac and iOS versions that sync ok and is also scriptable now.

Google Sheets is not too bad for a database if it’s not too complex as it has some powerful functions such as filter, sort, unique, arrayformula, hyperlink etc.
More clumsy than a database, but cheap and passable (perhaps), and better suited than Excel in my experience.

2 Likes

I would make something in Airtable or Ninox and see what’s grabbing you. I prefer Airtable if I can keep it to the free tier because the design is so good and it’s easy to bring in another user. Ninox feels more like a spiritual successor to Access and I like that it’s all stored locally and apps are or were one-time purchases (more like the Omni model.)

2 Likes

LibreOffice has a database part to it, it’s quite a popular (and free) alternative to MS Office. If you’re comfortable with MS Access then that might work well for you.

3 Likes