DEVONthink Edit Question iOS

I’m new to DEVONthink. I just updated to the version on iOS to allow me to edit my files. But the toolbar is over the text and I can’t see any way to move it, except to the other side of the iPad screen in the same orientation. Either way, it’s covering up the text. Surly I must be missing something, right? Please help!image

1 Like

The only way I know of to get around that is to use an external editor. You can use something like PDF Expert to open the file out of DEVONthink (switch the location to DEVONthink on the iCloud Drive open file sheet from within the app; DT on iOS does not support the Open in External Editor command, so you have to go round about).

@Doty @SteveH It can be moved. It either sits on the left or right, and snaps into place when you move it.

What do the two stripes at the bottom of the toolbar do? Tap and hold on it? Going from memory here - will confirm when I have my iPad at hand.

Edit: Just checked, and yes, you move the toolbar by tapping and dragging on the 2-stripe button at the bottom of the toolbar.

I have encountered the same problem. It is something that DT needs to correct. I have defaulted to opening the files in an outside application, for PDFs I use PDF Expert, then tap back into DT. The annotations are saved in DT. This has worked well for me. In fact, I just highlighted and annotated a bunch of conference papers using this method.

That just moves it to the right side of the screen and you have the same problem on the opposite side.

Ok, I’m trying to open it in PDF expert, but as @SteveH @Bmosbacker both said, I can’t seem to “open in” PDF expert, I can only open a copy in PDF expert. I’m not sure I understand the workaround. Are you using the Files app? I was really hoping to save and annotate in Devon and then categorize for future use. Now that the annotation bug is so bad in Devon, I need to hatch a different workflow. Can you explain a little more please how you do this?