Do you archive your email? Why?

I’ve been listening to the Email related episodes of MPU and Asian Efficiency and was surprised to find that archiving email seems to be standard practice!

I’ve never used the archive function before and while I’m not behind on my emails (I read/mark as read everything) am intrigued by how people use it. I just assumed that deleting unwanted emails and keeping the ones you want to preserve in the inbox (and optionally in folders) was the way to go but apparently not. I am particularly curious about Sent messages. Are they supposed to be archived too? What added benefit does archiving emails have as opposed to keeping them where they are? The search functions don’t seem to be any different and the messages continue to count towards your quota either ways, no? I understand why going through each email and not having hundreds and thousands of unread messages is desirable but can’t seem to figure out the benefits of archiving. Sorry if these are noob questions!

For me: no*

• Google Mail collect them all, i do no delete there.
1 Like

Archiving saves the trouble of deciding what to keep and what to delete. I just archive everything that’s not spam. Everything. And then I search if I need something, and it comes up in seconds.

This is how I handle software licenses btw.

5 Likes

You keep all of your email in the Inbox?

:anguished:

2 Likes

There are email retention laws in place for business email that require you to keep the emails for a minimum number of years. I archive all of my work emails as a matter of complying with legal guidance.

For personal email, I typically archive electronic receipts and emails from friends and family. Generally everything else is deleted after it passes a certain age. I have rules set up to flag deletion candidates within my personal email archive folder to have that done.

3 Likes