Docker: Updating packages inside Docker w/o blowing things up

SUMMARY
Looking for easiest way to update apps inside Docker on Mac and Synology, ideally an automated method to prevent the need for manually updating (ie. watchtower.)

CONTEXT
Hello everyone!

I have docker operating on a Mac and a Synology DS, running primarily starr apps.
Over time I drifted away, getting frustrated w/access to links and the admin required to manually manage content (I’m sure there are more tools and more to learn to make this easier mind you.) NOTE: I am not a coder or tech head… I followed tutorials and what not, needed help getting the link structures to work…novice.

2-3 years pass and I’m returning to get the media servers back in fighting shape. Glad to see he apps appear to be running ok (new media not yet confirmed.) That said, everything is way out-of-date. I updated Docker on Mac and that alone is now so foreign it seems.

The more I research and read the deeper the rabbit holes get and more daunting the journey. It is like relearning this from scratch, and onley want to update packages.
All I’m looking to do is the following:

1. Update apps running in Docker w/o blowing it up (ie. rebuild)
  2. Ideally automate the process so updates happen easier.

Mac:

• M! Mini running MacOS Ventura 13.1
    • Docker (updated April 30th, 2023)
    • Starr apps (time stamps 2-3 years old, albeit working)
    • 1 container w/the start apps inside.
    • Download an external desktop app
    (apparently not using portioner so just installed that)

Synology
• Synology DM 7.1
• Docker (20.10.3-1308)
• Starr apps (these are indicating as ‘test’ in the container view - auto updating?)
• Transmission is one of the container apps.
• For some reason I’m not seeing these apps grouped like on the Mac.
(personal preference would be to get it get it grouped like on the Mac)

Thank you for anyone pitching in…presume there are some here w/similar setups.