Does Overcast still support sideloading?

Subject line says it all. I returned to Overcast recently and am liking it again, but can’t figure out how to sideload MP3 files. Googling for directions is not helping. Help!

Visit https://overcast.fm/uploads and log in—you manage your sideloads through that small web app. I think a subscription is required.

2 Likes

Alas, that does not work.

I have a subscription. That URL resolves to https://overcast.fm/podcasts

Go to overcast.fm and log in. Choose uploads from the top of the page and there is a web interface to upload files.

1 Like

It works for me if I’m logged in to the site. And that’s the same page @mleibowitz is talking about. Maybe give it another shot?

Otherwise, if you absolutely can’t make that work for some reason:

• JustCast turns a Dropbox folder into a feed. 3 episode limit in the free version, or $5 per month.
  • If you’re a programmer, you could basically build your own version of JustCast (not super-difficult) that scans a directory and spits out an RSS feed. I built that for my purposes using Backblaze B2 as a back-end.

These options are really nice because you can have different feeds for different purposes, rather than one huge “Uploads” folder. And you can also exceed the 10GB Overcast limit.

I tried uploading an audio Bible that was broken out by chapter to Overcast, and I not only hit the file limit (not the posted limit, but an actual limit that was lower), but the file order got shuffled. Not a good time. But easy enough to do with my own integration.

Best of luck!

1 Like

Am I the only one that uses Downcast? It sideloads right out of anything… nextcloud, icloud, transmit, dropbox, devonthink, etc… etc… The developer is super responsive and I cannot think of any feature that is missing.

1 Like

Not now, I just downloaded it on my Mac and it feels good so far.