Dropped M1 Air... everything seems fine, but would love some reassurance!

Ahoy! So… I’m a teacher in a giant public school and we share classrooms, so I transport my supplies via a big ol’ cart. While transporting my stuff into a classroom, my M1 Air vibrated off the cart and landed CORNER FIRST onto a tile floor. My life flashed before my eyes.

Picked it up and investigated and all seems fine. Stuff works, starts, restarts, nothing cracked or broken that I could see. After much investigation, I noticed one issue: the bottom panel of the MacBook Air is no longer flush with the rest of the laptop in the corner that broke the fall.

The first image shows the slight “damage”, the second image shows what it SHOULD look like.

This seems super minor, especially since everything still works, but it bugs me. Brought to Genius Bar and the guy poked around at it to make sure battery didn’t seem swollen and said it’s all good/not worth opening things up and sent me on my way! I’m relieved, but just wanted to get a second opinion so I can rest easy knowing my beloved and relatively new device is a-okay.

Thanks for your time!

2 Likes

I once slung a backpack with two MacBooks (one Air, one Pro) onto my back. When I went to slip my arm into the second strap, I missed and it flew off my back and hit a concrete floor. That’s the day that I found out that the backpack wasn’t well enough padded and that MacBooks can continue to work with dented corners. They worked for fine for years, and the dents reminded me to be very, very mindful of how I handle my computers and of the quality of bags that I carry them in.

1 Like

OOF. It really is painful, isn’t it?

I try to remind myself that stuff is going to get beat up and scuffed over the years anyway. I think about how after I’ve had a phone a couple years, I just chuck it around with reckless abandon.