DVD Ripping / Handbrake settings in 2023

I am about to embark on a project I’ve been putting off for a few years which is re-ripping about 50 DVDs I have to for a better quality rip / compression than when I did it it like 2009 when I used the preset for iPod touch.

My old process was

1. RipIt (Abandoned Mac App) to get the Video_ts File
  2. Handbrake with iPod touch settings
  3. Tag with I don’t even remember what, but now I’ll use iFlicks

I liked using ripping ti since it only only used the DVD drive for a short time vs handbrake ripping from the drive the entire encode process

Any guides or ideas for the best settings for Handbrake now, and any replacements for RipIt to get the entire video_ts file?

Can’t you just let Handbrake look into your DVD-Drive?
As far as I remember, the last time I did this, I had no extra step to go…

I loved RipIt. It made “backing up” my DVDs easier than other methods I had used. You might try googling: alternative for ripit . That brought up some of the old timer apps and several new ones.

Just about every DVD movie I ever purchased is normally streaming for free somewhere so justwatch.com has replaced my ripped movie archive.

Good luck.

Adding to this - I want to rip DVDs that have subtitles and be sure my subtitles are included in the rip. Ideally using open source, but willing to pay if I have to. Any tips?

I can use handbrake for sure it just takes a lot longer than it use to when I used RipIt to get the video_ts file. It’s not a huge deal, couldn’t find a good alternative to RipIt yet.

I have had great luck with MakeMKV and Handbrake for ripping DVD’s.

2 Likes

Def Makemkv. I gave up on encoding so just keep everything full size, but handbrake is a fan of the makemkv rips.

Also can just use ffmpeg which is what all the encoders are based off and do it manually after you get the mkv.

Why do you need RipIt to get to the Video_TS file?
Why couldn’t you access this file from the DVD?

+1 MakeMKV

sretcarahc ytnewt