Educators! How are you using tech to plan, organize and run your classes?

I’m fairly new to teaching after spending my career in the corporate world. I’m really interested in how other professors and teachers are using tech to plan, organize and run courses.

( @RosemaryOrchard - Not sure if this is the right category for this topic…)

4 Likes

Currently I was a substitute teacher and temporary assigned teacher. This is dependent on your school though Google Apps for Education is great! I’ll be overhauling my systems myself. Currently working with DevonThink which has helped. I wrote lesson plans in Planbook (there’s other apps as well). My Apple Watch is great for timers and not having students yell “why can’t I use my phone if your using yours?”. As a Mac and Apple Guy, I’m hoping to be hired somewhere where I can bring my own device (BYOD) as I’m much more efficient on a Mac.

@KevinR, I’d be more than happy to share my experiences as an educational technologist in the appropriate forum for this topic. i’m sure there are plenty of other MPU listeners who would also love to share their experiences as well. Please feel free to message me directly if you’d like.

6 Likes

OmniOutliner. I have an outline with high-level year and monthly objectives for each class. The outline I use daily has columns for each class where I can jot down the main objective for the day, but I use the main (topic) column for some step-by-step lesson notes if I need. I have other outlines too, like for books we read, notes on the children and potential activities.

I teach nursery-aged children (2-6) so I have lots of music, a lot of which comes from Apple Music (the toggle in settings to ignore tracks played on this device is a godsend).

In the past I used iDoceo, which has so many great features and customisations, but I wanted to keep my data somewhere a little more open and easy searchable.

4 Likes

Also The Classroom Nerd is a good resource too

3 Likes