Email Filtering

Hey Power Users,

I receive a ton of email that I don’t necessarily want on my iPhone, especially when I’m traveling internationally. Reading it at home on my iMac or MacBook Pro is perfectly fine. I’m currently using filters in Apple Mail to move the “undesirable” mail to a local folder on my iMac, so that I don’t receive them on my iPhone. But this also prevents me from seeing them on my MacBook Pro. I’m wondering if you smart people have any other ideas or suggestions on how to filter these emails, and prevent them from hitting my iPhone, but being accessible to my iMac & MBP?

Cheers

You need to setup some kind of server-side filters and have the “undesirable” messages stored in an IMAP folder in your mail server instead of on a local Mac.

We might be able to help if you can tell us what do you use for email. (iCloud, Gmail, Fastmail, local ISP, etc?)

You’ve probably heard about Sanebox¹ which I have been using since 2013 (wow, that’s a lot longer than I realized before I just checked). Sanebox is 100% worth checking out. It’s one of those services that I use every day and never think about (which is exactly what I like about it). It automatically filters my email so that my Inbox stays clean, and the lesser-important stuff gets filtered to a different folder that you can check when you want.

On the few occasions when it has stopped working (usually because I did something that accidentally kept Sanebox from accessing my email), all of sudden my email feels broken without Sanebox filtering it.

What I love about Sanebox is that it’s smart enough that I don’t have to do a lot of training for it, but if a message does get mis-filed, all I have to do is move the email message to the appropriate folder that the message should have gone to, and it will learn. Can’t get much easier than that.