Essential Apps for Those in Ministry

Like many here, I am a pastor and a geek and my Apple gear is a key player in helping me get my work done every day. I know there are many other people who work in churches, either staff or volunteer, and wanted to know your essential tools.

I’ll share mine, and would love to know yours

Scrivener is preferred tool for creating courses. I love that everything is self contained, and that I can keep research with my writing

Keynote for slides, unless I am wanting to create them into videos for courses, in that case I use Final Cut Pro

Day One for Pomodoro tracking and daily and weekly goals and reflection

OmniOutliner for sermon outlines or notes

SongSheet Pro is the best chord chart application for worship leading on the iPad

I am in the process of putting everything on my WordPress website, so I use a bunch of tools and plugins there, too

My SkillCandy headphones combined with my focus@will lifetime subscription give me awesome concentration music

Launchbar to switch between apps and work with files

What about you?

3 Likes

CCLI SongSelect for getting legal copies of chord charts and lyrics for importing into ProPresenter for projection on screen. We waited way too long trying to do this with powerpoint when we should have just gone all in with this combo.

Planning Centre to schedule all your teams for each service, down to the finest details.

Piezo to record sermons using USB audio from your sound desk. Fission to trim up the start and finish, Audacity if you need to do some processing.

Mackie DL series audio mixers controlled via iPad are amazing and can connect to a Mac for recording via USB. Mackie speakers are great too. Also you can’t go wrong with Shure mics, wired or wireless. We use QLXD series which you can monitor and manage remotely from the same iPad that you’re mixing sound from.

Squarespace for hosting a sermons podcast.