External hard drive for Time Machine

Hi,
I was wondering if I could get recommendations for an external hard drive for Time Machine. My MacBook Air M1 has 500 GB storage. I was hoping I could get a (sort of sturdy) hard drive just for Time Machine. I am guessing 2 T is a good size. I wanted to get one under $100 if possible.

Apple has some on their site for La Cie but the same one I looked up on Amazon had some lousy reviews.

Also, any info I need to know or consider?

I tend to pick between WD and Seagate, based on cost per GB and their warranty length.

4 Likes

I too recommend SeaGate or (shudder), Western Digital. I say shudder because my personal experience with WD has been abysmal, but I recognize that my cases were likely outliers as many others have had great success with them. I myself have a 4TB SeaGate Backup Plus hub that I’ve been using daily for over 3 years with zero problems.

One recommendation: if all you are using it for is TM backups, there’s no need for an SSD. A regular old HD will be fine. However, if you ever want to use it to actually run files from, consider an SSD.

3 Likes

La Cie is owned by Seagate, but as @ismh mentioned, I think Seagate-branded drives offer better reliability and a more transparent look at their products’ capabilities.

2 T should be a good size for your machine. I have several of these and I think the last ones I bought were something like $70. Note that spinning drives, by their nature, can be damaged by impacts.

WRT Amazon reviews, I’ve observed that buyers having a bad experience with a product are more likely to post a review, so the percentages are skewed.

PS: I concur with everything @cdthomer said.

3 Likes

Thank you!

What is the difference?

Thank you so much, Jim!!!

Thank you, Steven! Nice to make your acquaintance.

Hey Katie, if you’re asking what the difference is between an SSD and an HD, it’s the kind of memory storage.