Fantastical Account

I’ve been using Fantastical for a couple years now. I have a full time job at a hospital and work here and there as a database/analytics instructor at a local college.

Both of these jobs use Office 365 and I use Fantastical when I’m away from my Windows work PC.

I got thinking the other night though….how safe is signing into Fantastical with work Office 365 credentials?

Both workplaces allow me to sign in okay via 365 but I’m not sure if this is by design or something they forgot to protect against.

Just wondering general thoughts on using apps like this that require a work login. Likely safe, or avoid at all costs to prevent any issues in the future?

My work and my main customer both use Office 365 and they don’t allow using their account in Fantastical (or any App other than Microsoft Outlook), so IT probably forgot to protect that in your case…

I can set both up in iOS too, using stock mail and calendar. I don’t like outlook. For mail it’s okay I guess but the way it lumps mail and calendar in together coupled with focused and “other” views on mailboxes - it feels like I’m constantly cycling around within the app.

I know I can turn focused mailbox off but it still seems like a lot of clicking around to get anywhere.

A lot of places will block it, BUT if they are using O365 and not on prem exchange they are using o-auth so it’s okay. Similar to setting up in iOS itself. Many still block based on inertia of the past.

It completely comes down to whether your company allows you to attach 3rd party apps to company systems.

There are two different levels which may present this:

1. Technical controls which actually prevent attachment
  2. Policy controls which forbid the connection of 3rd party systems or apps to company systems. There;s nothing which will stop you connecting but you’d be breaking company policy.

So I’d check, maybe ask an IT person.