Fantastical and Openings

After hearing @MacSparky talk about Fantastical’s new feature Openings I was excited because I saw this as a way to automate the numerous student appointments that I schedule each week. Set up the templates and activated it this morning and it has already been amazing! One issue I have run into is that I have a subscribed departmental calendar (Google Calendar) that puts events on Fantastical that I am unable to edit. The problem is that I am not involved in all events that show up on my calendar but all events default to “busy” meaning that they impact my availability in Openings. Since this setting is a Fantastical setting it would be nice if I could toggle it to “free” for all events that do not involve me even if nothing else is editable. Anyone have a solution for this? I could delete events that don’t involve me but that creates another set of issues. Thanks!

Does the Google calendar consider your availability when scheduling meetings or is it completely independent?

If yes: consider block scheduling your student appointments and use these blocks to offer them slots with openings. The Google calendar will see you are busy based on blocks and not double book you

If no: you have a problem as independently managed calendars have no means to talk and align. You will have to manually decline the sessions you don;t want. Only hope is that the departmental Google calendar has some cadence and logic to it so you can schedule around it in your student calendar.

Yeah, all these departmental events are scheduled for the most part without concern for my specific schedule because we all have different schedules. Also, there are some events that invovle large blocks of time but my contribution might be for only a a short period of time. Wondering if just hiding these events might solve the problem?

Might be easiest to create another calendar for student appointments.