Federico, The iPad guy, uses MacBook and becomes prolific

After suffering for ten years, and leading many others down the iPad Only path:

Blockquote
Have I been able to get more things done lately thanks to the Mac?
The answer is yes. The past six months have been one of the most prolific periods of my career, as you may have seen from MacStories Selects, the Starter Pack, my coverage of Obsidian and Shortcuts, and the month-long Automation April event. It’s not just that I’m very inspired at the moment: macOS has allowed me to get more things done, more quickly, with less friction than before, on a computer that I adore. For the first time in a while, I feel like I’ve only been thinking about the work itself rather than how to get work done.

(Emphasis mine, links removed and italicized cause I’m a newbie)

9 Likes

When I read his post two days ago (ok, to be honest, I read the extracts others where providing…), I was quite bummed.

It always was a mystery to me why he was willing to put that much effort into working around the limitations of iPadOS. It just was not worth it to me. But he did. And he excelled in doing so! To this day!

The iPad is an awesome device for some of my use cases (one example: ForScore is the #1 thing that cannot be replaced with anything on a computer). But when it comes to working with files or working with the same data in multiple apps, it still is like “THE iPad guy” himself has described in his article:

… the Mac lets you have an opinion on how you want to use your computer; iPadOS still doesn’t. macOS gives power users more options and a flexible multitasking environment; the iPad’s software (the problem is not the hardware) still doesn’t empower its most loyal users to do what’s right for them on a computer they own. I hope to see major changes on this front in iPadOS 16.