Finder broken i Catalina public beta 1, can’t download update

Hi there,

I was reckless and stupid enough to install Catalina public beta 1 on my daily driver. It broke the Finder and most other apps. I thought “oh great” I install beta two after coming back from holidays and the worst will be over. Alas, I can’t install the update, my Mac says it has the newest beta… . It does not.

I am really new to all this. Is there a way to get back to Mohave? What can be done?
None of the stock apps work correctly as far as I can see. I guess it’s a problem with iCloud. Should I disconnect Settings from iCloud?
I’m just clueless what I should do next. I guess me being here is still very aspirational, haha.

Your options are:

1. Restoring from a backup. You have one?! If you have a Time Machine backup, use the instructions at https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/restore
    If you did a backup using a tool like Carbon Copy Cloner oder Super Duper, follow the instructions of those software vendors to restore a backup.

2. Restore your Mac without a backup. You can follow the exact same instructions at https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/restore. The only difference is to choose “Reinstall macOS” instead of “Restore From Time Machine Backup”

3. Finding a way to “repair” your Catalina installation. I have no idea how to achieve that, though…

With 1) and 2) you will loose data, so if possible, you should try to save your data to an external disk to preserve it.

1 Like

Thanks for the help! I can’t turn off “Find my Mac” though and can’t make copies of files. I’m not afraid for my files since it’s on iCloud and I get to everything with my iPad. Will it have terrible consequences for my Mac. All I care for is that I don’t need to throw my macbook into the trash, actually:)

Another question is if a reinstall will kill my desktop files from my Mac on my other units and in the cloud? I could save them all in Dropbox I guess. Will that work?