First-time Zoom presentation

I’m a photographer. All of my “power user” efforts center on processing pictures for exhibition prints. I often speak at events associated with the exhibits where I’m surrounded by my work. I show up with a handful of notes, stand in front of a mic, and go at it.

So now, during Covid, I’ve accepted an invitation to give the equivalent of a gallery talk via Zoom. I’ve used Zoom twice to attend small meetings, never used Keynote or other presentation software. What could possibly go wrong?

I’m hoping for some tips on presentation via zoom—even a simple tool set to get me going in the right direction. I won’t be managing the event, and it won’t be an open meeting other than questions submitted in “writing”. I’ll introduce myself, give some project history, and talk about the work as I show the pictures on screen.

Here’ the gear I have available:
iPhone 11 Pro
iPad Pro
Macs/monitors-no webcams
An old Blue Snowball (?) mic around somewhere
AirPods that won’t hold a charge for the duration of the meeting
Wired headphones
Less than spectacular DSL—about 20 down and 1.5 up

And software:
Keynote (no experience)
Apple Photos (some experience)
Lightroom (lots of experience, but aimed toward processing and printing)

I may never do this again, but I’m happy to invest time and even a bit of money if necessary to come up with a straightforward, entry-level system to get started with. Can you help with suggestions?

First, welcome to the new normal.

As one who has run through the range using Zoom, Panopto, and Google Meet, I would say that Zoom can be the easiest of the set. Here is what I would NOT bother doing:

• I would not bother trying to convert documents to Keynote. You can do just as well to have your content fully ready as PDF. More below.

• I would not bother investing any money in more hardware predicated on assuring that your old Snowball still works (see below).

As to the processing that you should do with software in advance: