Follow on to the Password Thread, Convince me about 2FA

OK SO here’s a topic that willprobably result in massive discussion.

Many folks here seem to think that 2FA is a the bees knees with regard to ensuring safe on-line use.

Here are my issues with 2FA.

1. I don’t do email on my phone so anytime I am forced into 2FA there is no way for me to share my 2Fa code to my desktop for quick accurate entry.
  2. With a good strong password, kept secure with none shared among sites why does 2FA provide anything more? Esp. if for the critical financial sites I have alerts set up to notify me of potentially fraudelent charges?
  3. It seems that many folks store their tokens or 2FA codes on their devices. Why is that any good at all?

I will confess that since I never use 2FA except where mandated I have zero experience but to me it seems like a lot of hassle and effort for very little gain over a good password not stored on-line.

2FA is nothing to do with email. It’s delivered by several means, including SMS (not great, but better than nothing) and most usefully of all, an app on your phone, computer, even watch.

It’s an extra factor. If your password gets stolen or (now rarely) exposed, then it’s useless without the 2FA.

Sure, if someone steals your phone and your phone has your 2FAs on it, then it’s game over. But… there is usually a third factor in play — namely the app you store your 2FA in can have its own password and/or biometric access.

Like all things, there are ifs and buts and caveats, but in general it is more secure to have 2FA than not.

2 Likes

I agree that if you have strong, well-constructed, well-protected, and unique passwords, then 2FA is not essential on personal devices.

In a corporate context, where it is almost certain that some portion of the population will not follow good password practices, then enforced 2FA for logging into corporate devices and websites is important.

3 Likes