Freelancing and Depression

G’Day, fellow Free Agents.

My name’s Tim, and I’ve been flying solo for the last eight years, working as a freelance writer and photographer here in Melbourne, Australia. It’s a top-notch town to be running your own hustle in, with a vibrant creative community (and the best food scene in the world).

I wanted to share some of my experiences around an issue that’s probably a little painful for some: work and depression. It’s been brought up a couple of times on the podcast, and given how common it is, I’ve absolutely no doubt that many of you have had your own struggle with the black dog.

I’ve suffered from depression since I was a teenager. Sometimes it’d last a day, sometimes it’d be for weeks at a time. Sometimes I could grin and get on with my life; other times I’d spend the day in bed dying. Over the years I came up with ways to manage this depression: at first, drinking vast quantities; and more recently, not drinking at all. I married the most brilliant person I’ve ever met. I ran, I meditated, I saw friends, I called my family, I talked about my feelings. I made long lists of ways to sort my head out. And I made a career doing the things I love.

But despite all my efforts to solve the problem of myself, I got worse. A few months ago, I realised that I couldn’t remember the last time I felt happy. I couldn’t even recall the feeling of pleasure. The thought of the future only invoked a vague sense of sickness. I was isolating myself from the only people who supported me, drifting further into isolation without really meaning to.