Growing photos library, storage and potential Mac upgrade

Hi all,

I’m having problems figuring out what the best long term solution for the following problem is.
I have a 2012 MBA which I Upgraded to 500gb of internal storage. Since our son was born this year our photo and video (4K, 60fps needs a lot of space) usage went through the roof and the local and iCloud storage is melting away - already bumped it to 2TB shared storage as 200GB didn’t cut it anymore.

What I absolutely want is a local backup of my wife’s and my Mac photos library on our mac. I don’t want to trust iCloud alone as only “backup” by activating “optimize storage”. The libraries get backup up to an external 2TB SSD and also to backblaze B2 cloud backup.

So far the situation.
As our MacBook Air is quite old I think about upgrading to one of the new M1’s. But I can’t figure out a long term and low maintenance solution for the photo management situation.

• an BYO upgrade of the ssd would be out of budget and the cheapest 512GB option wouldn’t last a long time anyway - I want to increase RAM to 16GB for longevity btw
  • as it is a laptop I’m not keen on relying on an external drive to put the photos libraries on since that always has to be connected in order to download the newest photos and videos in order to be backed up. And I would need another drive for that since the external ssd is the time machine target and I want redundancy of the data.