GTD app suggestion

Hi all,

Request for app suggestions please! This is my first post to MPU. I’m new here (was signposted by a kind internet stranger from elsewhere) so apologies if I have posted in the wrong topic.

I’ve been turning this problem over in my mind now for a few months, and would very much appreciate input from others.

I’m torn between the best GTD-style app for work. My work is very much focused on my diary (telling me where I need to be and when) and tasks with deadlines (much get document X to Y by Z time etc).

Should be simple enough, right?

I’ve been bouncing between:

1. The built-in Reminders app.
  2. Adding items to the calendar.
  3. Things3 (which I bought ages ago and haven’t really used to full potential).
  4. Omnifocus (which I’m using on trial at the moment).

I like having the ability to break down projects, some with soft deadlines (it would be good to write that article this month). Other deadlines must be met.

I like how Reminders integrates with the calendar so that if a deadline falls on a particular day, it shows up in calendar view. I also like the way I can use projects, headings and groups in Things. The trouble with Things is that it doesn’t seem to cross-populate with my calendar, meaning deadlines in Things don’t show up there. I would also like to have the option of putting on numerous alerts in advance (a week before, 3 days before etc), and the ability to add reminders to items in Things is limited.

I have to confess, I’m really struggling with Omnifocus. It strikes me as terribly complicated, and probably more than I need, which is really a tool to manage deadlines.

Have I missed any other apps? Is anything else particularly recommended?

Thanks for reading.

I can understand it can seem a bit overwhelming
What in it strikes you as complicated?

Looking at your use case it would suit it very well I think.
using defer dates as “nice to do then” and due dates as “must do then” for example.