Hazel and Obsidian

Hi all, I’m a new (and overly zealous) convert to Obsidian, meaning that among other things I am moving my 2600+ notes from Roam (not for the faint of heart).

I’m wondering if anyone has used Hazel at all for managing Obsidian files/workflows? (I’m also new to Hazel but I’ve purchased a license and @MacSparky field guide).

For instance, is it possible to rename daily note files from Roam into the Obsidian format?

Any other tricks or tips that folks might be using that might be helpful in sorting through so many files and managing workflow?

I am wary about using Hazel for working with files or folders in iCloud – especially if you ever you get to the point of using Obsidian on a mobile device, with uses CloudKit and thus a different aspect of the iCloud storage structure than Obsidian and the desktop. Plus, depending on the plugins, etc., that you might end up using in Obsidian, there can be a number of hidden files and folders that you don’t want Hazel messing with.

You mentioned in another thread you are migrating from Roam to Obsidian – so that’s a one-time event, isn’t it? Do you really need to configure Hazel to rename files just once? Remember, you can configure the daily note name in Obsidian to match what you use in Roam. Or, on the other hand, you can use Finder’s Rename feature which is more than adequate.

Other than that, what does “workflow” mean for you in this case? Give us more info to react to, maybe?

2 Likes

@cwdaniels
Interesting idea … but I’d be very careful about experimenting before doing anything on a big scale. If things aren’t where Obsidian expects them to be, things could go sideways quickly.

1 Like

Good luck with the transition!

If the other suggestions here don’t work, you could try A Better Finder Rename, which I use for large/complex rename situations. Caveat emptor, with great power…, etc. etc. etc.

2 Likes

Thank you, I may need that. I don’t think Hazel is exactly what I’m looking for.