Help us lay out our home office

We are having a home office built in our back garden, as a stand-alone unit. It’ll have a double sofa bed in there and will need to function as:

1. An office for Person 1 to work from home 5 days a week. Self-employed. Windows laptop, no need for a larger display, but may want one in the future. Basically needs power and internet, a desk and a chair.

2. A space for Person 1 to run an Etsy crafting business.

3. A spare bedroom for guests (sofa bed).

4. An office for Person 2 (yep, that’s me) to work from home 2 days a week (employed) - at the same time as Person 1 - and many evenings/weekends doing freelance work, general productivity stuff, blogging, video editing, photo organisation, writing… that sort of stuff. I’m a MacBook Pro user currently but looking at the Mac Studio. I have a large wall mounted display which I’m not looking to change. I also use a Windows 10 laptop for the day job. I connect both my machines to my display via USB-C.

The designer has just shoved a double desk in the middle and the sofa at the end on the mock-ups. I personally think the sofa should turn 90 degrees and be against that left wall, so it opens out into the room.

My display will need to be wall-mounted so I’m thinking that should go on the far right wall and I’d be facing towards the right of the drawing.

I’m just not sure where my wife’s desk would go, nor her crafting area.

I hate visible cables.

What does everyone think?

1 Like

Have you considered getting/purchasing layout software and designing the basic footprint on your own?