Help with very simple shortcut

Can anyone help me set up a shortcut where I can send a text message to multiple at the same time? Or even better through WhatsApp, if possible.

I am a teacher and I need to contact parents often through SMS or WhatsApp in a fast way on my personal iPhone and/or iPad. But I don’t want to put all the parents’ contact information in my private phone.

I hope this makes sense and that someone can help me make a simple shortcut that I can multiply for each student in Siri Shortcuts.

Unless I’m missing something that should be just a one step shortcut. There’s a default “Send Message via WhatsApp” step. Just create a new shortcut and drag that over and add your recipient. Create one for each student/parent with their name as the title of the shortcut.

1 Like

I’m not sure if you can easily add multiple recipients if they’re not in your address book.
This shortcut should do the job. (I’ll remove this link one day possibly).
You could get fancy with a dictionary to ask you which student it is and then lookup all the related recipients.

1 Like

I posted a simple option in your cross-posted thread in the Automators fourm.

Here is the link to the shortcut posted in this other thread:

https://www.icloud.com/shortcuts/12682eaf479841c2a8a81d73170aa209

1 Like

You will have to have their contact information on your phone somehow, or else the iPhone won’t be able to access it. (Well, I suppose you could put it in an AirTable database, but I’m not sure that’s any better.)

I don’t use WhatsApp so I can’t comment about it, but this seems like something you could do with a list… oh and I see @GraemeS has posted an answer like what I was going to suggest.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for all your help! I think I’m going to go with @jayelevy because I cant install WhatsApp on my iPad, despite @GraemeS great help, so I won’t be able to send messages from my iPad…