How can I use Devonthink 3, PDF Expert and Zotero together?

I’m new to MacOS. I bought a Mac Air and I’d like to use Devonthink 3, PDF Expert and Zotero together, but I need some help.
I use PDF Expert for annotating and highlighting all my pdf files and Zotero for getting all the metadata from those files. I know Devonthink 3 is a powerful tool for managing and indexing files, but I don’t know how to build a workflow.
I’d like to keep using PDF Expert to annotate my files, but I don’t mind moving them to another folder/app.
Should I move all my pdf files to Devonthink 3? If I add a note or highlight using PDF Expert, will I be able to see it on Devonthink 3? Can I integrate Zotero and Devonthink?
I would appreciate some ideas for a workflow and some tips.

1 Like

I do this. The missing link is Bookends. I may post a more complete outline of my workflow one day but here’s how it works in the abstract:

I use Zotero to import citations (particularly using its Safari extension). Nothing beats Zotero for this. However, as a reference manager, I much prefer Bookends. So, I use Zotero only as ‘front end’ for getting citations (metadata and PDFs) into Bookends (see here for how that’s done). Bookends has several import functions but none work as well for me as the Zotero method.

Once in Bookends, all imported PDFs are renamed according to the following pattern (which can be customised in Bookends preferences):

2020 Bloggs, Joe [[123456]] The Title of an Article.pdf

Here 123456 is Bookends’ own unique ID of that record. With that UID in the filename, you can easily refer back to the Bookends record wherever you are: looking at the file in Finder, reading it in PDF Expert, or wherever. You just need a macro or script (I use Keyboard Maestro or AppleScript) to read the front window name (so long as it contains the filename, which it usually does) and extract the UID via regex.