How do you differentiate between daily notes and professional journaling?

Everybody loves daily notes these days, they’re one of the most requested features in notes apps. I get the idea in theory – log what you’re been doing, maybe what you have planned to do on a very day, which allows for a professional record of what you’ve done and how.

One thing is struggle to figure out and I would like to ask the community’s opinion is how this differs in journaling for your work and processes, especially when you’re freelance (this thread is admittedly an offshoot from this more general one).

I write fiction for a living, which means that basically anything can become fodder for ideas, and that’s why I’m such a fan of the Zettelkasten method, where I can just see things emerge. Additionally, all writers will tell you that keeping a writing journal of how things went during the day, what you learned on the craft and on yourself, has tremendous value, and I’ve been doing that for years, documenting my own practice for my future self. The issue with this is that often insights get buried in years of entries, unless I care to tag the most interesting ones, but they are the most interesting ones appearing to me now, and I never know what I might be needing from my past self in the future… So having my insights at the same place I have my notes does have a clear appeal as I can immediately link things together, Zettelkasten-like, and not lose them to the past.

So, dear fans of the daily note, how, in your opinion, do daily notes differ from professional journaling? Is there even a difference in your eyes?

If not, in theory, shouldn’t we journal on any subject with daily notes so as to leverage the whole mass of our ideas and insights for the future?

Or do I have the whole idea wrong?

Very curious to know what you think.

4 Likes