How do you ensure your not being too wordy when writing formal documents with dictation?

I’m a teacher in special education and have to write some formal documents for students accommodations for class. I usually dictate my writing as it goes smoother and I’m able to get my thoughts on paper faster.

That said I was told by my instructional coach that my writing was too “fluffy” and wordy. I’ve been told that before especially as I’ve dictated. My thinking is that I can just dictate the document and then go over with a fine tooth comb proofreading. I’m able to get the document written and then fix it up is my thought. Otherwise I find myself slowly writing if trying to type it out.

Anyone have any insights or thoughts this?

Get your thoughts down with dictation. When you edit, do so with a purpose and a time limit. You may for example do the editing in stages

• Correct mistakes quickly
  • Tighten phrasing in 15 min or less
  • Tie it up in 2 min

When the criticism is not about the content, limit yourself to how far you go to edit content after the dictation.

Perhaps also ask someone to volunteer to proofread your before and after results. Ask them to tell you whether you are going in the right direction.

JJW

1 Like

Not a direct answer, but once you have language you like you could save it as boiler plate in text expander or the equivalent.

1 Like

I think dictating the first draft is an excellent way to go about it. I wouldn’t change that.

Sounds like maybe you just need to devote more time and attention to the subsequent drafts and the editing. Which means you’re in the same boat as about 99 percent of people who ever write anything.

One other thing - it sounds like these are bureaucratic documents to secure accommodations for students, correct? In which case there are probably some key terms or phrases that need to be in the documents, and the rest may not matter much. Focus on student outcomes and don’t sweat the rest.

3 Likes