How I Use CleanShot X + Keyboard Maestro for screenshots

I’ve been using CleanShot X for almost 2 years now as my screenshot app and I’ve been very happy with it.

For years I used Snappy and LOVED it, kept using it about 3 years after it was abandoned but it just got too bugy which sent me to try CleanShotX.

I find myself mostly taking screenshots of select areas on the screen for either a file or my clipboard.

I don’t take advantage of about 60% of the apps functionality mostly just from not taking the time to learn but between the app it self and Keyboard Maestro I am very happy with my workflow and thought I’d share a bit. What I like / use most

1. OCR Text Capture has been flawless
    1. Screenshots pinned to screen. Great when you need to compare a list but’ don’t need to save the screenshot beyond that
    1. Ability to annotate and sav e the screenshot from the popup overly.
    1. Ability to upload to cloud sevice
    1. My Keyboard Maestro Palette for all functions
    1. With the pro version you can use your own domain to share screenshots via link.

Like many of you I like taking advantage of keyboard maestro palettes so I don’t have to remember so many hot keys. For screenshots I have programed my most commonly used screenshot workflow Area to File. (Save area of the screen to my desktop as PNG)

But I made a macro group for all my screenshot functions that I can trigger thru a hotkey tied to show the group palette toggled by (⌥ + `)

The app gets updates every 2 or 3 months and what I love is they make a short video so show new features.

Really the only drawbacks for me are

1. No iOS app to view all items saved in the cloud. I have the page bookmarked on my home screen but I always have to login back in.
    1. The cost for the version I have for Cloud Pro is $100 annually. But that

Would love to read more about some more advanced users screenshot workflow

2 Likes