I’m looking for a PDF reader with stronger features than preview

Hi there!

I’m a vet and I have a considerable library of textbooks where most of them have > 100 pages with the occasional small article or scan that I made with my scanner app.

Access across all my devices is essential (iOS, iPadOS, and macOS) because when I’m on the run or away from my Mac, I want to access information inside my textbooks or other documents. Another requirement is the ability to OCR everything so that I can find information easily, even on scanned documents.

I have used Devonthink but found it to be overkill for my needs, I don’t think I’ll pay for the next upgrade, as I just use it to read PDFs and never create any kind of document there.

For my Note-taking needs I use craft, that’s why I just need a great PDF manager and reader that lets me store them on the cloud when I’m not using them. Occasionally, I had to spend like half an hour troubleshooting Devonthink to go with the main app on my Mac to sync everything, and that’s not something I really want.

To scan stuff I use Scanner Pro, and I have been considering getting PDF Expert by the same company; however, I don’t know how reliably it Can store and handle big files like textbooks.

I will be exporting to pdf the handmade annotations I make in Nebo and the polished final note created in craft.

Any suggestions for just a specialized PDF manager and reader? The normal preview is too basic for my needs. I’m moving towards the camp of specialized tools instead of tools that do a lot of things.

Thanks in advance.

For large PDFs, I have found that only Adobe works reliably. PDF Expert, PDF Pen, Nitro all failed me when working with large files, e.g., adding pages, rearranging pages, and redacting.

1 Like

Of all the apps whose names begin with “PDF” this one has risen to the top for me. Available in all the app stores.

PDF Viewer - Annotation Expert by PSPDFKit - Complete PDF SDK

2 Likes