iCloud Private Relay vs 1.1.1.1 vs NextDNS

Looking to the DNS and privacy MPU experts!

At the moment, I have iCloud Private Relay switched on. Years ago I was using Cloudflare’s 1.1.1.1. app. More recently I’ve heard raves about NextDNS because it includes all apps (not just Safari) and blocks tracking and ads. But it seems it’s one or the other, you can’t really use NextDNS with iCloud Private Relay. Is that correct?

I find all these “new” apps or services confusing in what they actually do, or how they are different. I’d like to land on the best option for me i.e. want a simple yet private way of browsing web, blocking IP and tracking.

I’m new to all of this so explain like I’m five!

I use the AdGuard DNS public servers with Apple Private Relay and it works fine. On my iphone & ipad I installed the profile so get the ad blocking DNS regardless of what network I’m connected to. Have also configured the home router to hand out the AdGuard DNS servers to all connected devices on the home network via DHCP.

The instructions on their site are easy to follow.

Here’s some reading to start things off. Note: Private Relay is Safari only. It doesn’t work if you use Chrome or Firefox, etc. Most (all?) other apps etc. will reveal your IP. I’m not familiar with NextDNS but it appear to be a filter. Hopefully other MPUs can offer more info.

Nothing beats a good PAID VPN for hiding your IP address but, IMO, you can never be 100% certain you aren’t being traced. And they normally do not include filters so you still see all the garbage.

Not entirely sure they do work together, but glad to be wrong…
In the case of AdGuard, they still have in their knowledge base this article which indicates that they don’t. It is my understanding that, if they are running together, then one or the other takes precedence and you don’t get the full benefit of either. Too technical for me to figure out, which is why I use AdGuard all the way…