I'm going to a conference without my Macbook today. Pray for me

I’m a tech journalist. Been doing it for 30 years and during all that time a big part of the job has been going to tech conferences around the US, sitting in the audience on sessions and writing articles about what people say, and also doing interviews with vendors and companies and writing about what they say.

For the first 10 years or so I kept my laptop in the hotel room and worked there. But for the last 20 years, I’ve walked around all day with a laptop bag hanging from my shoulder. Because 20 years ago there emerged this thing called the World Wide Web and now I was no longer writing for weekly and biweekly newspapers. I was writing for a medium that published continuously. I needed to be able to stop and write during the day.

And those laptop bags, they start out the day not weighing much but by the end of the day it’s like carrying a refrigerator in a shoulder bag.

Yesterday I did something I’ve been thinking about for a while. An experiment. Left the MacBook in my computer bag and worked on my iPad all day.

And it worked great. I only needed the MacBook once, to quickly cut-and-paste some boilerplate text that lives in a repository that does not sync to the iPad.

Today I take the big plunge. I am leaving my hotel room shortly and will lock the MacBook Pro in the safe and just work on the iPad all day.

Pray for me.

The iPad, btw, is a 2018 6th gen standard model. Not a pro. I am at this moment skeptical that anybody actually NEEDS a Pro model, other than some folks who work in visual fields such as the arts. But of course I lust for the Pro anyway.

Keyboard is a Microsoft portable that has served me well for casual use for a few years, but which is starting to get a little flaky, alas. No big deal – plenty of keyboards out there, including one for a mere $30 that people seem to like.

6 Likes