I'm so close to phasing Adobe out of my life; I need a Lightroom replacement

I’ve been a Windows user most of my life. I’m a hobbyist creator who sometimes freelances. I take photos with a DSLR, I make motion graphics, I make still graphics, and I do video editing. When I moved to the Mac a few years ago, I fell in love with Final Cut Pro and decided to use it over Premier.

Fast forward to today, and I’m almost completely free of Adobe’s $50/month subscription. I have replaced Photoshop and Illustrator with Affinity Photo and Designer. I have replaced After Effects with Motion. I also just want away from Adobe Creative Cloud.

However, I am struggling with a Lightroom replacement. Here’s my ideal photography workflow:

1. Load SD card into Mac, and copy all RAW photos to a folder to be backed up and archived.
  2. Import the RAW photos into a photo editor (currently Lightroom).
  3. Do my curation and editing process.
  4. Export the pictures that made the cut into large JPEGs and then import those into iCloud Photo Library.

I have tried:

• Apple Photos: Don’t like it because Photos is my “personal library” and I don’t want to load it up with a bunch of RAWs that I’ll be deleting.

• Darkroom: Don’t like it because it doesn’t have an area I can just import to that isn’t your photo library. This was the best app to work with, but when you click “import”, it puts them all into your Photos app and I’m back to the problem above.

• Luminar: The closest so far. I import my photos, do my work, export to my hard drive. This is currently my best option but they lack an iPad app. I do occasionally enjoy cuddling up on the couch to edit photos on my iPad.

• Darktable: Not a bad app, but it’s open source and has that non-modern “open-source look” that just looks extremely dated.

I’m willing to pay for a good app that preferably comes for Mac and iPad but not a subscription. I’m so close to not needing Adobe.

1 Like