iMac Pro with external hard drives

Hi,

One of my biggest gripes about my iMac is the way it handles the external hard drives - you always get the spinning wheel while you’re waiting for them to come back from sleep, which makes the computer seem slow and unresponsive. Also, depending on what external drives you’re using, even starting up the computer might become a slow affair (with the LaCie Porsche Design 8 TB USB-C + USB 3.0 being the worst offender I met so far).

I am a photographer, so I need lots of storage space and continuous backups for all my photos.

What I’m wondering is if the T2 chip in the iMac Pro might help with this or not. If anyone is using one in this kind of scenario, with at least 2 external hard drives connected to the computer at all times, please let me know your thoughts!

Disable “Put hard disks to sleep when possible” if you have not done so already. That is one first step that can be done easily. -> https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202824

Probably though, the problem is not the iMac. And there is not very much Apple can do to improve the situation. External spinning drives will slow down your machine significantly. This is because hard drives act on their own. They have firmware on board with energy management. Some of them do a good job, others are bad in managing themselves and “understanding” the connected system.

If a hard drive decides to go to sleep it will go to sleep. When the Mac requests the hard drive to wake up, it needs to get spinning again and here comes the beachball.

If you have a tool to access the hard drive’s energy settings you may be able to change the settings. But that is very rare.

A different solution might be to use a tool like this:
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/31158/keep-drive-spinning

I have not tried it but it basically prevents external spinning drives from going to sleep by constantly “updating” hidden files. Something like that should not run 24/7, I guess.