iMovie/Video Workflow?

Hey Guys,

Quick question for you regarding general workflows. I am fairly new to video capturing/editing/storing but very familiar with computers and storage/backups. I recently got a DJI Mavic Air drone that I’ve been LOVING and have some incredible 4k footage from. However, my problem is that my videos are massive in size. I understand that I could decrease the size by dropping the resolution; however, I want to keep 4k. Same concept for videos from my iPhone X that are 4k. Large in size but incredible quality - so I want to keep them that way.

For reference, I have a 27" iMac 2017, 3.5ghz i5, 24gb RAM, and 512gb SSB. I also have 4TB and 8TB External HDDs hooked up to the iMac, both USB 3.0. They are currently being used for media storage (Movies/TV shows) as well as Time Machine as well as Carbon Copy Cloner backups. I have several free TBs free though and can get another HDD if needed. I work mostly in iMovie and Photos (nothing more advanced at least right now).